Select Your Language

The Public Services Ombudsman (Wales) Act 2005 stipulates the types of organisations about which the Ombudsman can consider complaints. The list below is based on Schedule 3 of the Act. However, this list can change over time. For example, new bodies may be created and brought within the Ombudsman’s jurisdiction, others may be abolished, whilst restructuring of a sector of the public service can bring about changes in names and functions.

If you are unsure whether or not a body is under the PSOW’s jurisdiction, please contact us.

Government of Wales

  • The Welsh Government
  • The National Assembly for Wales Commission


  • Welsh Revenue Authority

Local government, fire and police

  • A local authority in Wales (this includes county/county borough councils and community councils)
  • A fire and rescue authority in Wales constituted by a scheme under section 2 of the Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004 (c. 21) or a scheme to which section 4 of that Act applies
  • A Police and Crime Commissioner for a police area in Wales and Police and Crime Panels


  • A National Park authority for a National Park in Wales
  • Committee on Climate Change
  • Natural Resources Wales
  • The Flood and Coastal Erosion Committee
  • Planning Inspectorate

Health and Social Care

  • Care Inspectorate Wales
  • Social Care Wales
  • Children and Family Court Advisory Support Service (CAFCASS) Cymru
  • Healthcare Inspectorate Wales
  • National Clinical Assessment Service (NCAS)
  • National Institute for Social Care and Health Research
  • The Board of Community Health Councils in Wales
  • A Local Health Board
  • An NHS trust managing a hospital or other establishment or facility in Wales, including Welsh Ambulance Service
  • A Special Health Authority not discharging functions only or mainly in England
  • The Wales Centre for Health
  • A Community Health Council
  • An independent healthcare provider in Wales
  • A family health service provider in Wales e.g. GP/ Dentist
  • A person with functions conferred by regulations made under section 113(2) of the Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Act 2003 (c. 43)
  • Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee
  • NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership
  • Care homes and domiciliary care providers


  • A social landlord in Wales (this includes housing associations)

Education and training

  • The Office of Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Education and Training in Wales or Prif Arolygydd Ei Mawrhydi dros Addysg a Hyfforddiant yng Nghymru (Estyn)
  • Qualification Wales
  • The Higher Education Funding Council for Wales
  • An admission appeal panel constituted in accordance with regulations under section 94(5) or 95(3) of the School Standards and Framework Act 1998 (c. 31).
  • The governing body of any community, foundation or voluntary school so far as acting in connection with the admission of pupils to the school or otherwise discharging any of their functions under Chapter 1 of Part 3 of the School Standards and Framework Act 1998.
  • An exclusion appeal panel constituted in accordance with regulations under section 52 of the Education Act 2002 (c. 32).

Arts and leisure

  • The Arts Council of Wales
  • The Sports Council for Wales
  • National Library for Wales
  • National Museum for Wales


  • The Building Regulations Advisory Committee for Wales
  • The Welsh Language Commissioner
  • The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales